跳转至

备份简述

什么是备份?

备份指的是将文件系统或者数据库中的数据进行复制,一旦发生错误或者灾难时,能及时方便地恢复系统的有效数据且正常运作。 一旦发生错误或者灾难时,能及时方便地恢复系统的有效数据且正常运作。

备份的方式有哪些?

  • 完全备份(Full backup):指把硬盘或数据库内的所有文件、文件夹或数据作一次性的复制。 (优点:最好,能更快的恢复数据。 缺点:占用较大的硬盘空间。)
  • 增量备份(incremental backup):指对上一次全部备份或增量备份后更新的数据进行备份。 过程是这样的,比如第一天进行一次完全备份;第二天进行一次新增数据的备份,相对于全部备份来说;第三天在第二天的基础上再进行一次新增数据的备份,相对于第二天来说。
  • 差异备份(Differential backup) :指完整备份后变更的文件的备份。 比如第一天完全备份;第二天备份新增数据;第三天备份第二天到第三天的新增数据;第四天备份第二天到第四天所有的新增数据。
  • 选择性备份(Selective backup):指对系统的一部分进行备份。
  • 冷备份(Cold backup):指系统处于停机或维护状态下的备份。 备份的数据与系统中此时段的数据完全一致。
  • 热备份(Hot backup): 指系统处于正常运转状态下的备份。 由于系统中的数据随时在更新,备份的数据相对于系统的真实数据有一定的滞后。
  • 异地备份(Remote backup):指在另外一个地理位置备份数据,避免因为火灾、自然灾害、盗窃等造成数据丢失与服务中断。

rsync简述

在一台服务器上我将第一个分区备份到第二个分区,也就是俗称的 " 本地备份(Local backup)",备份的具体工具有tardddumpcp等都能实现。 备份的具体工具有 tardddumpcp等都能实现。 虽然数据备份在这台服务器上,但如果硬件无法正常启动,数据将不会被检索。 为了解决本地备份这个问题,我们引入了另一种备份——“远程备份”。

有人会说,我在第一台服务器上使用 tar或者 cp命令,然后通过 scp或者 sftp传到第二台服务器不就可以了吗?

在生产环境下,数据量是比较大的。 首先, tar 或者 cp 会消耗大量的时间且占用系统的性能。 通过scp或者sftp传输还会占用大量的网络带宽,这在实际的生产环境下是不被允许的。 其次,这些命令或者说工具是需要管理员手工输入的,需要搭配计划任务crontab一起。 但crontab设定的时间不好掌握,时间太短或者太长对于备份数据来说都是不合适的。

所以在生产环境下需要有一种数据备份,需满足以下的需求:

  1. 通过网络传输的备份
  2. 实时的数据文件同步
  3. 对系统资源的占用较小,且效率较高

rsync 似乎满足了上述需求。 它使用 GNU 开源许可协议, 是一个快速增量备份的工具, 最新版本为3.2.3(2020-08-06)。 您可以访问 官方网站 获取更多信息。

在平台支持上,支持绝大多数的类Unix,不管是GNU/Linux还是BSD等都支持。 另外Windows平台下也有相关的rsync,比如cwRsync。

最初的 rsync 由澳大利亚程序员安德鲁-特里杰尔(下图1所示)进行维护,现在已由韦恩-戴维森(下图2所示)进行维护,可以到 github项目地址 获取您想要的信息。

 安德鲁-特里杰尔  韦恩-戴维森

注意!

Rsync本身只是一个增量备份工具,不具备实时数据同步功能(需要其他程序做补充)。 此外,同步是单向的。 如果您要实现双向同步,需要配合其他工具。**

基本原理和特点

rsync是如何实现高效的单向数据同步备份的?

Rsync的核心就是它的Checksum算法, 如果您感兴趣可以去 Rsync工作原理 以及 rsync算法 了解,这一部分超出了作者的能力范围,不做过多的说明。

rsync的特点有:

  • 能以递归的形式更新整个目录;
  • 能有选择的保留文件同步属性,比如硬链接、软链接、所有者、所属组、对应权限、修改时间等,可以保留其中的一部分属性;
  • 支持两种协议进行传输,一个是ssh协议,一个是rsync协议

最后更新: March 18, 2022

Author: tianci li

Contributors: Steven Spencer

回到页面顶部

Skip to content

Backup Brief

What is a backup?

Backup refers to the duplication of data in the file system or database. In the event of an error or disaster, the effective data of the system can be restored in a timely manner and normal operation.

What are the backup methods?

  • Full backup: refers to a one-time copy of all files, folders or data in the hard disk or database. (Pros: the best, can recover data faster. Disadvantages: take up a larger hard disk space.)
  • Incremental backup: refers to the backup of the data updated after the last full backup or incremental backup. The process is like this, such as a full backup on the first day; a backup of the newly added data on the second day, as opposed to a full backup; on the third day, a backup of the newly added data on the basis of the second day. , Relative to the next day. And so on.
  • Differential backup: Refers to the backup of the changed files after the full backup. For example, a full backup on the first day; a backup of the new data on the second day; a backup of the new data from the second day to the third day on the third day; and a backup of all the new data from the second day to the fourth day on the fourth day. And so on.
  • Selective backup: Refers to backing up a part of the system.
  • Cold backup: refers to the backup when the system is in shutdown or maintenance state. The backed up data is exactly the same as the data in the system during this period.
  • Hot backup: Refers to the backup when the system is in normal operation. As the data in the system is updated at any time, the backed-up data has a certain lag relative to the real data of the system.
  • Remote backup: refers to backing up data in another geographic location to avoid data loss and service interruption caused by fire, natural disasters, theft, etc.

rsync in brief

On a server, I backed up the first partition to the second partition, which is commonly known as "Local backup." The specific backup tools are tar , dd , dump , cp, etc. can be achieved. But you shouldn't "put all of your eggs in the same basket." Once the hardware fails and cannot start normally, the data still cannot be retrieved. In order to solve the local backup For this problem, we introduced another kind of backup --- "remote backup".

Some people will say, can't I just use the tar or cp command on the first server and send it to the second server via scp or sftp?

In a production environment, the amount of data is relatively large. First of all, tar or cp consumes a lot of time and occupies system performance. Transmission via scp or sftp also occupies a lot of network bandwidth, which is not allowed in the actual production environment. Secondly, these commands or tools need to be manually entered by the administrator and need to be combined with the crontab of the scheduled task. However, the time set by crontab is not easy to grasp, and the set time is too short. For example, if it is executed once every 1 minute, it may happen that the first script is not executed, and the second script is executed again; the set time has passed For example, if it is executed once every 5 hours, there may be data loss because the data is not backed up in time.

Therefore, there needs to be a data backup in the production environment which needs to meet the following requirements:

  1. Backups transmitted over the network
  2. Real-time data file synchronization
  3. Less occupancy of system resources and higher efficiency

rsync appeared to meet the above needs. It uses the GNU open source license agreement. It is a fast incremental backup tool. The latest version is 3.2.3 (2020-08-06). You can visit [ Official website ] (https://rsync.samba.org/) for more information.

In terms of platform support, most Unix-like systems are supported, whether it is GNU/Linux or BSD. In addition, there are related rsync under the Windows platform, such as cwRsync.

The original rsync was maintained by the Australian programmer Andrew Tridgell (shown in Figure 1 below), and now it has been maintained by Wayne Davison (shown in Figure 2 below) ) For maintenance, you can go to github project address to get the information you want.

 Andrew Tridgell  Wayne Davison

Attention!

rsync itself is only an incremental backup tool and does not have the function of real-time data synchronization. It needs to be supplemented with another program. In addition to this, synchronization is one-way, and if you want two-way backup, you need to use another tool to achieve it.

Basic Principles and Features

How does rsync achieve efficient one-way data synchronization backup?

The core of rsync is its Checksum algorithm. If you are interested, you can go to How Rsync works and The rsync algorithm for more information, This section is beyond the author's competence and will not be covered too much.

The characteristics of rsync are:

  • The entire directory can be updated recursively;
  • Can selectively retain file synchronization attributes, such as hard link, soft link, owner, group, corresponding permissions, modification time, etc., and can retain some of the attributes;
  • Support two protocols for transmission, one is ssh protocol, the other is rsync protocol

Author: tianci li

Contributors: Steven Spencer

Back to top